Just about half way

It's not all bad
As previously stated, my month of April is dedicated to not drinking alcohol – as part of my new goal every month New Year Resolution.

In 14 days, I did in fact have one drink… but that is far fewer than I would have had so far had I not attempted this rather arbitrary goal! I would say… by at least 3 bottles, and two bar tabs.

I think it’s weird… When I told people I wasn’t going to drink pop (soda… w/e) for a month, they are like “haha, that’s funny, good for you.”

You tell the same people you don’t want to drink alcohol, they’re like “wahhh? Why? Why would you do that? What’s wrong?”

Pretty much all the same reasons I abstained a month from pop are the same reasons to abstain from alcohol. Don’t need the calories, it usually goes hand in hand with more food/overeating, save a few bucks, both have equally dangerous health effects. Pop is full of sugars and caffeine, and studies have shown it (the sugars) releases dopamine in the brain (well the sugars trigger chemical responses in the brain) that mimic other drugs – literally can make you feel like your addicted to sugar, plus all kinds of other bad stuff that I’m not going to go into regarding all the synthetic sweeteners used now. Alcohol is damaging to your liver, cognitive function, and emotional state, and in some is highly addictive. Although… I can’t say I’ve ever blacked out from drinking too much pop, I have blacked out from drinking too much alcohol. On the other hand, I doubt the amount of alcohol I have drank has contributed to most of my teeth being filled, whereas drinking pop (and other sugary drinks and sugary snacks) has.

anyways…

So far so good – it’s weird that some times people around me then don’t drink. That’s been interesting to see… Also, when I tried to find information about alcohol, a lot of it wasn’t that bad… There are a lot of pro’s associated with drinking mildly… like 1 -2 glasses 1-3x per week (like a glass of wine, or something like that).

http://www.medicaldaily.com/7-health-benefits-drinking-alcohol-247552

http://greatist.com/health/alcoholic-drinks-benefits

I tried to find some articles to describe alcoholism, and what binge drinking is…

http://alcoholism.about.com/od/tests/l/blquiz_alcohol.htm

^ Weird… I always have qualms with some of these… Sometimes I think it should be like a “more than one occasion” kind of thing… Maybe I take it too literally… Who hasn’t been less efficient the night after drinking? Who hasn’t been like “this really sucks, I want to go out with my friends!” But now I sound defensive… Idk. haha. You know if you’re cheating!

http://www.intheknowzone.com/test-your-knowledge-11.html

^ I totally bombed the test… but because I was more strict than lax on the answers… so I don’t feel as bad about that.

http://www.cdc.gov/alcohol/fact-sheets/binge-drinking.htm

^ Most reasonable piece of literature. I like that it gives percentages.

Me? I celebrate. But never alone. Usually with lots of food and some good friends. There have been times when I just really drank too much… but there are far, far more that I really enjoy drinking bottles of wine or tasting new varietals with good company and catching up, or mimosas with an afternoon nap, or a good game of beer pong. Honestly the hardest part of this is making others not feel uncomfortable.

And now… just because…

Wine Friends

I plead the 5th

I plead the 5th

Wish I hadn't seen this

Wish I hadn’t seen this

Leave a comment